Rajesh Patnekar is new Goa Speaker


Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Rajesh Patnekar was on Tuesday elected as Speaker of the Goa Legislative Assembly in a special session of the House.

He defeated his Congress rival Pratapsinh Rane. The post of Speaker had been lying vacant since Pramod Sawant resigned to take over as Chief Minister following the death of his predecessor Manohar Parrikar in March.

The special session was called by Goa Governor Mridula Sinha to elect the new Speaker. Mr. Patnekar, who was the candidate of the National Democratic Alliance, polled 22 votes, while Mr. Rane got 16 votes in the 40-member House.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here